Reviews

What people are saying about Black Swan




Summary
4.9

Exceeded expetations - Rating 5/5

Nice location, nice pub, good room lovely and quiet. Very nice staff and had a great dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Slept like a log. Parking right by the door, what more could you want? Good price too.

Reviewer: Richard S | Tue 23rd Apr 2024 | 10 hours ago


Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

What a hidden gem. Not far off the A66 and Penrith and definitely worth the detour. We were made to feel very welcome, our rooms were comfortable and the pub itself is friendly with a good choice of beers. We had an evening meal and this proved to be a great decision as the food was amazing! Very tasty and good sized portions, we were certainly well fed. Breakfast too was excellent. We will definitely stay here again.

Reviewer: Angela B | Wed 17th Apr 2024 | 6 days ago


Nice evening on our way to Scotland- Rating 5/5

A lovely evening at the black swan again. Comfortable bedroom, warm atmosphere, lovely food at dinner and breakfast and a warm welcome from Jackie and her staff. A place we would recommend to everyone

Reviewer: Mackay | Wed 17th Apr 2024 | 6 days ago


Lovely traditional family run pub with rooms - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight on the way to and from a wedding in Scotland and would certainly come back again for a longer stay. It is an ideal base for exploring the Lake District and within easy reach of the motorway.The family were very welcoming and fitted us in for an early dinner despite having a large party booked in. On our second visit we were able to relax in the welcoming bar while browsing the menu for dinner.The food at dinner and breakfast was good and the service was friendly and efficient. The arrangement of preordering breakfast ensured that it arrived promptly and hot when we came down in the morning.We stayed in two different rooms on our visits.Both were cosy and comfortable but we particularly liked Room 7.It is good to see a family run pub like this and wish them continued success.

Reviewer: Ann W | Mon 15th Apr 2024 | 1 week ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in this excellent hotel. Room was clean and comfortable and the evening meal and breakfast very good - even though we couldn't quite manage all of the evening meal.

Reviewer: David U | Mon 15th Apr 2024 | 1 week ago


A Great Recommendation - Rating 5/5

The Black Swan was recommended by our friends as the place to stay when visiting the Penrith/Lake District area. Accommodation was excellent, plenty of room and warm. We stayed just one night, and ate in the restaurant, our compliments to the Chef Steve, for both that meal and Breakfast the following morning. Jacky was a great host, both behind the bar and at Breakfast. A Great Recommendation!

Reviewer: Stewart G | Sat 13th Apr 2024 | 1 week ago


Good - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable short break, staff very friendly and helpful, room comfortable and food good.

Reviewer: Sarais C | Wed 10th Apr 2024 | 1 week ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Comfortable room with childs bed in a separate area in the room. Good food and friendly staff

Reviewer: Julie| Tue 9th Apr 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Amazing- Rating 5/5

A beautiful place to stay with fantastic food and the welcome was fantastic. Would recommend highly to anyone travelling to this part of the uk and we will definitely stay again!

Reviewer: Logan | Tue 2nd Apr 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Good food good service clean! What more is there to say!

Reviewer: Ian | Mon 1st Apr 2024 | 3 weeks ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Bar
  • Conference Facilities
  • Country Retreat
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Family Room Available
  • Free Parking
  • Luxury
  • Restaurant
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Vegetarian
  • Walking Holidays
  • Wedding Functions
  • Free Wifi
{
}